Response: The Role of Social Media in Marketing


The Importance of Responding:
I have often read that a great public relations tactic is to respond to followers on social media.  I did not fully understand what part this played in social media until I read this article about the role of social media in public relations campaigns.

The article talks about how social media can not exist on its own, you have to integrate it into your public relations strategy or you will not be able to create a cohesive “community.”

Last year I was at the Nordstrom half yearly sale and I tweeted to Nordstrom,

“My two hour drive to the closest Nordstrom was worth it! I got the best deal on a @Stevemadden coat #halfyearlysale.”
Within about 20 minutes Nordstrom replied to me and said , “Thank you for being such a great customer!”
Sure, it may be an automated response, but it made me feel engaged and appreciated. Now I tweet at Nordstrom whenever I am in the store. Who are you’re your favorite companies or brands to tweet at?

Leave a comment